Taking off from jumps... What to do?!

Geeds
Geeds Posts: 8
edited May 2012 in MTB general
Hi all. I'm totally new to all this, I literally know nothing! My question is this...

I've a Specialized Carve Comp 29er on order, hopefully will have it in next couple of weeks. Now, I know it's more of a cross country machine, but plan on riding trails now and then, at which point I'll come across jumps and stuff. So, what exactly do you do at the point of take off? I'm guessing you should pull back a little on the bars, but any general advice and do's and don'ts would be appreciated.

Cheers in advance, and my apologies if this is covered elsewhere here.
2012 Specialized Carve Comp 29er - a reasonable bike with a terrible rider.

Comments

• The best plan is to find a small tabletop jump (no gap in the middle) and keep practising. Repetition is the key to everything.

There's a few basics to start you off on the right foot:

1. Stay relaxed, if you tense up then you tend to get pitched forwards, if its a steep take off, and thrown off balance.

2. When you approach the jump you need to make sure your elbows are level, otherwise your bike will naturally drift off axis in the air in the direction of your lowest elbow.

3. Pump your bike (push down) into the jump and allow the bike to come up towards you in the air, this compresses the bike into the jump allowing it to spring off the edge.

4. Be prepared to use small movements in your handlebars to adjust your position in the air, pull the bars up if the back end of the bike starts to get too high and push the bars down to bring the nose down for the landing.

5. The aim is to take off front wheel, then back wheel (like a proper bunny hop, not both wheels at once) and apply the same theory when landing. Ideally you want to land slightly on your front wheel so you gain control quickly and can move on to the next obstacle, whether that's a jump or a turn.