any suggestions budget £400-£500 and any mtbs with long fork

connoraslett96
connoraslett96 Posts: 32
edited May 2012 in MTB buying advice
hey guys im new to mountain biking, well i had a look around and to be honest all i can find is hardtail mountain bikes with really short travel, i dont want to do XC riding or any competing for that matter, just something that is tough with long travel, i havent fully established what riding style i wanna do but something like downhill just not as quick, lpease help me out i already had a go on some full suspension bikes and i hate them, to me it feels so numb and personally i cant feel whats going on with the bike, so please help me out, also is halfords safe to buy because i was looking at this bike product_storeId_10001_catalogId_10151_productId_840923_langId_-1_categoryId_165499 i originally got a really low end apollo phaze but with the centos the forks look okay but i would just upgrade the brakes and speeds, thanks again and thanks fr reading :)

Comments

• EH_Rob
    EH_Rob Posts: 1,134
    I think the Voodoo Hoodoo (£500) or Bantu (£400) might be of interest to you. Bit more expensive than the link you provide, but both have 120mm travel and a much better spec than the Carrera. At this price point it's better to just spend the money up front as it will go further than trying to upgrade bits yourself.

Buying from Halfords should be ok, but they're a mixed bunch. Some of their staff know what they're doing, some have no idea. Bit like a lot of places! Take it to LBS for a service after buying if you're concerned and not too technically minded.
  • okay thats great thanks for your help and will they be able to put up with the abuse i give it, i am rather aggressive and wanna take it up some tough stuff :)
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708