Schwalbe Marathon plus tyres

Azhar
Azhar Posts: 247
edited May 2012 in Road beginners
Hello,

I have Schwalbe marathon plus tyres on my road bike. tried practicing a puncture repair, cos i'm new to road biking, and i honestly couldnt take off the tyre so i can get to the inner tube. i was trying to take the whole tyre off, just on one side so i can take out the inner tube and then put it back in. i deflated it off course but still had prioblems getting the tyre off on one side.

does anyone have this problem? i know that these tyres are puncture resistant but just wanted to ease my mind in knowing IF i did have a pouncture. i know what i'm doing.

Comments

• samsbike
    samsbike Posts: 942
    Apparently they are pig to take on and off. Preserve and get some good tire levers
  • rolf_f
    rolf_f Posts: 16,015
    samsbike wrote:
    Apparently they are pig to take on and off. Preserve and get some good tire levers

Preserves? What on earth has jam got to do with the poor chaps problem? :lol:

The best solution is to get some nicer tyres - Marathons are great if you own a cycle hire scheme and don't have to ride the bike yourself but otherwise best avoided; too heavy, too lifeless, too much faff to take on and take off. Schwalbe Duranos are a much better bet. Fear of punctures isn't a good reason to ruin the bike!

There is a video on here though that shows how to deal with Marathons; scroll down - http://www.spacycles.co.uk
    Faster than a tent.......
  • Hoopdriver
    Hoopdriver Posts: 2,023
    Yes, Marathon-Plusses are a pain to get on and off a tyre - the virtue of them being that once you have them on you will probably not have to take them off again until you've worn them out. They really are extremely-puncture resistant.