New to sportives. How hard is Le Terrier?

young dog
young dog Posts: 64
Hi folks.

I am new to sportives and am thinking of entering le terrier in the Forest of Bowland.
There seems to be a lot of conflicting information about how difficult it is and I am wondering whether to enter the 71 or 104 mile routes.
On cyclosport.org, they rate it a 5 for difficulty. Yet I have read a thread on another forum and this guy said that he was frightened of it, but he hadn't ridden it.

Thanks for any help. :)

Comments

• 3Pears
    3Pears Posts: 174
    youngdog,
    is this a quote ? If not, your at least one of the organising team, don't ask a question bout your own event to plug it - poor effort :evil:
  • maddog 2
    maddog 2 Posts: 8,114
    how hard is hard?

well it depends on how strong you are....

It's easier than the Fred but still a tough day in the saddle.

Have you done a 100 mile ride with 3000m of climbing before?
    Facts are meaningless, you can use facts to prove anything that's remotely true! - Homer
  • Brian B
    Brian B Posts: 2,071
    Probably one of the hardest 100mile sportives on the calendar - if not as tough as the Fred then its only just. I had bad weather on this event last year but thoroughly enjoyed it.

If this is a plug then good luck :|
    Brian B.
  • nickwill
    nickwill Posts: 2,735
    Agree completely Brian. I think the weather made it particularly hard last year, but the relentless progression of hills has something to do with it. One of the top sportives on the calendar. I'm looking forward to doing battle with the revised route this year.
  • maddog 2
    and it'll set you up nicely for the Bowland badass.... :wink:
    Facts are meaningless, you can use facts to prove anything that's remotely true! - Homer
  • nickwill
    maddog 2 wrote:
    and it'll set you up nicely for the Bowland badass.... :wink:
    Think that one is just going a step too far! A good route has it's own logic.
  • young dog
    young dog Posts: 64