The next purchase new shoes /peddles - advice ?

ricey155
ricey155 Posts: 233
edited July 2012 in Road beginners
Ive recently released the moths from my bank account and purchased hard

ive been using my MTB shoes for 2 years on both MTB and road outings so im going to upgrade, i spoke about it on the Sunday ride yesterday and BONT got mentioned VAYPOR model

im running shimano spd's and looking at the BONT shoe its a different cleat set up all together - LOOK pedals cleats

thought id ask if there's anyway to use the speedplay system is there a bracket to make the 3 holes on the shoe 4 holes ? its going to cost me a few quid but id rather get something right 1st time than swop and buy stuff again and again

welcome your feedback on shoes and peddles for the BONT shoe

cheers all

Comments

• Wirral_paul
    Wirral_paul Posts: 2,476
    The Bont shoes have standard 3 bolt standard soles to take the Look / Shimano road pedal cleats usually. Speedplay pedals come supplied with the adaptor plates (plastic ones) that convert the 3 bolt configuration to accept the 4 bolt cleats. There are also some wedges included to fit the different curvature of the soles.

Speedplay have a compatibility table - i'll dig it out. Great pedals anyway - love mine. Just bought titanium spindles from the USA to replace the standard Cro-mo ones. Works out loads cheaper than the Speedplay Titanium pedals, and there's a much higher weight limit on the replacement spindles.

http://www.speedplay.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=shoeguide.searchroad

If you're 100% sure on the Speedplay pedals then Bont can supply 4 bolt soles specifically for the pedals
  • ricey155
    im not 100% on the speedplay pedals but im 99% on the bont shoes only problem seems to be getting a pair :D

it seems there only in stock at RRP and no offers anywhere which is sad news for me, the speedplay pedals look nice id guess there on a par with look and other brands

need to move away from SPD's and try something new :lol: