Do aero frames make a difference??

Dave_P1
Dave_P1 Posts: 565
edited May 2012 in Road beginners
I've noticed a lot of vids / articles on the net where x manufacture makes statements about a particular bike / frame being a lot more aerodynamic than another, and I was wondering if you can tell the difference when swapping frames? I'm talking normal road bikes here not TT bikes.
For example, I own a Cannondale Supersix, if I swapped my frame for the Supersix Evo and kept the rest of the kit the same would you be able to tell the difference?
You could apply the example to any frame I suppose, Specialzied S-Works Venge or a Dogma 2??

I'm new to the road cycling world but not cycling itself so this topic has got me wondering.....

Cheers,

Dave

Comments

• dodgy
    dodgy Posts: 2,890
    Do they make a difference, in the lab maybe, doubt you can feel it on the road. It's the bag of flesh and bones on the saddle that is the problem as far as wind resistance goes.
  • rpd_steve
    rpd_steve Posts: 361
    Yes they definitely make a difference. But can you feel a 5W improvement? Most cant. Does 0.1-0.2 mph matter to you? It does not to me as I tent to run at pack pace, but it does save you a bit of energy over a long race/ride for the same speed.
    Is it worth £2000 for a Crevelo S2 for example? Well that depends if you can afford £2k and will enjoy knowing the frame is 'better' technically.
  • majormantra
    majormantra Posts: 2,094
    Short answer no. Long answer, yes, maybe, depends on lots of factors. There are other changes (position especially) that can give you speed at far less cost.
  • indysmith
    indysmith Posts: 276
    Differences will be minuscule. The surface area of the bike hitting the wind is nothing compared to your body (no offense :lol: )
  • thefd
    thefd Posts: 1,021
    Presumably its a bit like shaving your legs for that little bit extra speed... :lol:
    2017 - Caadx
    2016 - Cervelo R3
    2013 - R872
    2010 - Spesh Tarmac