Hi All!

Geeds
Geeds Posts: 8
edited May 2012 in MTB beginners
Just thought I'd say hi as I'm new to mountain biking and the forum! Not long turned 40' so thought it time to get fit again before it's too late. A load of people I work with have recently bought bikes on the cycle to work scheme that our company is a member of. I've taken the plunge and ordered a 2012 Giant Talon 0 29er, should have it in a couple of weeks! I'll be doing a combination of riding to work and trail riding, and after reading up decided to go the 29er route, rightly or wrongly!

I'm in Bournemouth, for the record. First impressions of the site are that it's very informative, exactly what I need as a beginner! Any advice as to essential accessories etc I should be looking into getting would be much appreciated.
2012 Specialized Carve Comp 29er - a reasonable bike with a terrible rider.

Comments

• Greer_
    Greer_ Posts: 1,716
    Welcome :)

Accessory wise you'll most likely need:

- cycle specific clothing e.g. jerseys/waterproof/padded shorts/gloves/pads if needed etc
    - Puncture repair kit/multi tool/spare tube
    - For commuting - a really good lock (someone will give you advice on which one), insurance, and perhaps lights
    - And A Helmet!

I've probably missed some things but those should get you started!
  • Geeds
    Thanks for the reply, Greer! Yes, have sorted most of those things, but am yet to buy a multi tool. Not sure which to get to be honest. I'll have a look around the forum to see what's what.

Thanks again.
  • mak3m
    mak3m Posts: 1,394
    welcome to the forums matey

just gone for a 29er myself, 3 weeks and counting.

if it fits you, and fits your riding dont let someone else tell you otherwise :wink:

make sure you check out the site reviews as well for kit can be really helpful or at least point you in the right direction, if you cant find try the buying advice section cos theres a good chance someone out there has one.
  • Geeds