Hi, a couple of commute questions

benjii19
benjii19 Posts: 67
edited May 2012 in Commuting chat
Hi all,

I'm new to this cycling forum and also to commuting to work. I've only got a 4.8 mile commute to work. But am finding it quite hairy at times.

I've got a couple of questions.

When approaching a busy roundabout with the intention of going straight on (second exit) and then 200metres up the road having to go into the central reservation of the dual carriageway to turn right. What lanes would you take?
Should I take the roundabout on the left and fight my way across to the right when on the dual carriageway with almost certain death or use another approach. Bearing in mind I don't have the acceleration of a vehicle in my puny legs.
Here is the roundabout in question: http://g.co/maps/ew224 DONCASTER ROAD TO FITZWILLIAM ROAD AND TURN RIGHT ON TO CHESTERTON

In a queue of traffic am I entitled to go down the centre of 2 lanes, or the furthest right of a single lane? If I were to do this but need to turn left I imagine I'm better off going down the outside and then signalling across to get in lane again to turn left.

I find cars are driving too close to me, one almost knocked me off my steed this morning. Should I attempt to stay out further so that they actually have to overtake rather than skim me and scare the living daylights out of me.

Other than that it's sure to get me fit or killed!

bEN

Comments

• roger_merriman
    roger_merriman Posts: 6,165
    Take the lane if you hug the kerb on those sort of roads cars etc will blat past with inches to spare.

I'd take the left lane to the roundabout but slightly to the right so no car attempts to squeeze in and to allow others to go left,

I'd ride down the dual carrageway once the right turn was in sight i'd start looking, back indicating right, and start moving over, slotting into a gap, still holding the lane.