Why blackberry's suck

mr_eddy
mr_eddy Posts: 830
edited May 2012 in The bottom bracket
I will state right off the bat that I am not referring to the berry which is absolutely un-sucky and wonderful. No my gripe is with the smartphones made by RIM.

I work in IT and as such I have had my far share of working with and owning Blackberry's mostly not through choice (company phone etc). I feel I am now suitably qualified to give my opinion on these devices, and the report is not good.

Here is why:

1. BIS or Blackberry Internet Service. If you want to sync your email on your blackberry with your work email (SMTP normally) then you will more than likely need to either sign up to BIS with your phone provider usually at a cost of at least £5 per month or get a Blackberry Enterprise Server for many many pounds, I don't get why Blackberry are still hanging on to this outdated painful excuse for email sync. Android devices and iOS devices can do this all out the box with minimal of fuss.

2. Apps, The blackberry app store is quite simply a joke, overpriced and understocked. They have been going for years so there is simply no excuse im sorry.

3. file support. Basically every Blackberry I have ever owned has been a pain in the a"*e to work with now universally accepted file formats, such as .avi or docx come on RIM sort it out before you become part of the pages of history and not in a good way.

4. BBM more specifically people sat on the same bus together sending each other instant messages whilst sat next to each other. Are you friggin kidding me! Ok that is more of a dig at the users and not the device but still annoying.

5. Styling, sometimes I think the designers at Blackberry have only got access to some tracing paper, I know people who like blackberry like the style but modernise a bit please. They all look the same (with the exception of the torch)

7. Tiny screen no good for anything save for extending battery life (a bit) its still gonna be a daily charge job.