hi! help?

ksouthy
ksouthy Posts: 7
edited May 2012 in MTB beginners
Hi, I have just bought a bike & would like to get into biking, but being a complete novice, what is the best way to build up confidence along with skills. I dont want to be jumping in at the deep end :oops: I live in Foulridge Lancs, surrounded by a lot of fields, reservoirs and a canal. I know there is trails around my way (gisburn, burnley) but I just havent got the confidence to turn up and try it yet.
oh my bike is a Carrera Centos, I've no idea if this is a good bike to start off on or not...

any help would be great
cheers, Kieran

Comments

• estampida
    estampida Posts: 1,008
    err any bike is a good start

but its really saddle time you need to start, get used to how the bike handles, what you naturally can do and have aptitude and talent.

so get out riding, get used to being on the ground (up and downhill) before you get airborne as the faster you go, the quicker and worse the crash is, so start slowly and work your way up.......
  • Majski
    Majski Posts: 443
    Find some trail centres that have blue runs and/or skills areas and spend some time there. Graded trail centers are the easiest way to work up as you can start a trail with an idea as to what's on it. Start with blue, when you're happy do red, then black etc. At XC trail centres, generally nothing will demand that you leave the ground, there will always be options that keep you wheels touching dirt.
  • danlikesbikes
    danlikesbikes Posts: 3,898
    Sounds simple but getting confidence can only come after doing the riding. You need to get out on the bike and start slowly with more simple routes till you get used to your new bike, spending time in the saddle & building up your fitness.