Riding 100k in sub 4.5 hours

NITR8s
NITR8s Posts: 688
edited May 2012 in Road beginners
I want to raise money for cancer research and have found a 100k ride specific to cancer research locally and think it would be good one to do. My question is I have already ridden over 100k so I know I can easily do it, so what to set myself a challange to try and encourage more sponsers.

Therefore, do you think the challenge of riding 100k in a sub 4.5 hours is a realistic challenge for me? I started riding properly about a month ago and have recently done a 69mile sportive in 6 hours 3 mins but this was really hilly, wet and windy. The longest training run I have done so far is 30miles and that took just over 2 hours. The ride isnt until the 1st July and is local so can get alot of practice on the course before the ride.

Do you think that a sub 4.5 hour 100k is achievable or should I go for more of a sub 5 hour target?

Comments

• Definitely achievable.

I did my first 100km after having previously done no more than 45miles in a single ride. Despite being wet and hilly, I boxed it off in just under 4 hours.
    Twitter: @FunkyMrMagic
  • snoopsmydogg
    snoopsmydogg Posts: 1,110
    why not ride the course and see how you get on?

Will a set time really encourage more sponsors? Would have thought that most people would see 100k as an achievement and the timescale is more for your own goals.

Oh and good luck for a good cause :)
  • NITR8s
    why not ride the course and see how you get on?

Will a set time really encourage more sponsors? Would have thought that most people would see 100k as an achievement and the timescale is more for your own goals.

Oh and good luck for a good cause :)

Gonna try and ride the course this weekend, but gonna have to take a map with me as only know half of it and will no doubt get lost on the other half.
  • nochekmate
    nochekmate Posts: 3,460
    Use a unicycle for a greater challenge. :lol: