lee quarry

liveforever1982
liveforever1982 Posts: 78
edited April 2012 in Routes
not sure if this has been asked before,but is there as trail suitable for a beginner at lee quarry or do you need a few skills first before trying it out? cheers

Comments

• DodgeT
    DodgeT Posts: 2,255
    As long as you don't go near the black stuff, you should be OK. Or, if you don't like the look of the rocky sections, head off up to cragg and do a loop there, then back down to the easy stuff at lee.
    It's all good.
  • mcnultycop
    mcnultycop Posts: 2,143
    It has been asked, here by me. There are a couple of rocky bits on the final descent I still find a bit of a struggle, but do-able, and some of the rocky ascents and short climbs are still beating me. I go up there quite a bit now though and I'm getting better every time.

Give it a go, you'll love it.
  • might go up during the week,don't wanna go when its too busy and get in folks way,plus being a complete novice i still feel a bit self aware about my skills or lack of,silly i know.
  • mcnultycop
    Even at weekends it isn't crazy busy. I move out of the way of people who are faster than me (most of them!) when necessary, but that isn't too often up there. I've been up in the week recently and been the only person around at Lee besides the odd dog walker, and absolutely the only person up at Cragg.

I know this won't help your confidence, but go when other people are around in case anything does go wrong, if you are riding alone. If I sort my knackered freehub out this weekend I should be up there on Saturday morning.
  • maybe a few weeks before i get up there as only started to use my bike the last couple of weeks so need to get some fitness levels built up. know what your saying about other people being around,so may try a sunday up there.
  • delcol
    delcol Posts: 2,848
    that climb up into the quarry will soon sort out your fitness..