Help with a rear cassette please

corona
corona Posts: 116
edited April 2012 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi,I have a Trek 4100, quite old ( bout 10 years). I put a new chain on it and i was getting chain slip. I had a look at the rear cassette (and the internet) and decided on a new one it is a 7 speed. I have no LBS so wiggle order was sent with all the bits and pieces I need. The order arrived today, but I have an immediate problem. The Shimano cassette lockring remover doesnt fit. I've just had another look on the web and i can only find shimano compatable.

My question is. Do older gears have different sizes, i can see the ridges inside but the lock ring remover is just too big. Any help would be appreciated. Cheers

BTW, I am a maintainance novice

Comments

• desweller
    desweller Posts: 5,175
    Sounds like you've got a freewheel not a freehub.

If that's the case, the bad news is the new part won't fit. It's a different hub design; on modern hubs the freewheel mechanism is part of the hub and the cassette fits onto splines on the hub. On freewheel hubs the mechanism is part of the cassette assembly and the unit screws onto the hub (incidentally, they are super-difficult to remove, especially if they've been on for a long time.

If it's been less than 7 days you can send it back and get a 7-speed freewheel and freewheel tool. Be prepared to have difficulty removing it. When I had this problem a few years ago I wound up getting a new wheel with a modern hub instead; it was that difficult to remove.
    - - - - - - - - - -
    On Strava.{/url}
  • corona
    Aahh, that makes sense, thanks. I have taken as much as i can off the wheel and am now looking through the middle at sets of bearings. I think that confirms a freewheel.

I hear your warning of unit screws and these havnt been touched for 10 years. Seems like a perfect excuse to buy a new bike, to be honest the rest of the bike isnt in great shape. think i will return some items to wiggle.