What chain lube please?

mar_k
mar_k Posts: 323
edited April 2012 in MTB buying advice
Im off to Evans in a bit to buy some more chain lube,
I have been using Finish line Wet so I now need a Dry lube.

Im thinking of either Finish line Dry or Finish line Ceramic Dry.

As I have no experience of either I am looking to hear from those who have.

Many thanks

Comments

• Chunkers1980
    Chunkers1980 Posts: 8,035
    What lube you use is less important than doing it properly, keeping it clean and doing it often.

I
  • mar_k
    What lube you use is less important than doing it properly, keeping it clean and doing it often.

I

I hear you, I am quite anal about keeping the running gear clean and lubed
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Squirt.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • al2098
    al2098 Posts: 174
    Squirt.
    Has my vote
  • bennett_346
    bennett_346 Posts: 5,029
    I've used at least 6 types in the last 2 years and none seemed significantly different to the other.
  • ^ ditto, although im using squirt atm as others seem to love it and it works
    worst moment ever...
    buzzing down twisting single track then.... psssst BANG!!!
  • stubs
    stubs Posts: 5,001
    Tried lots of different lubes got a shelf full of half empty bottles. Got a blue one, a purple one, a white one, a gold one. None of them last long in Pennine sloppy grit but then nothing does. Keep going back to Stihl bio-degradeable chainsaw lube its the same as Green Oil and Pedros lube but about 5 times cheaper.
    Fig rolls: proof that god loves cyclists and that she wants us to do another lap
  • blister pus
    blister pus Posts: 5,780
    As above, Peaks / rain / grit. Wurth high performance dry chain lube (500ml aerosol) for motorbikes, I can't be arsed changing having used them all, and I get better value out of it.
  • felix.london
    felix.london Posts: 4,067