What to do stop really REALLY aching legs

thegodplato
thegodplato Posts: 319
edited April 2012 in Road beginners
I'm new to this cycling and 40!! Looking at getting much fitter to do a 1 day C2C later in the year and LeJog next year. I have been considering suppliments from MyProtein.com to aid energy and recovery but wonder if I don't really need them until the hours on a ride increase? I don't go to a gym so this is my only form of exercise. I'm not too fat at 12 stone 12pounds and 5`10" but could do to lose a bit of the belly!
I've started off easily over the last 3 weeks with rides or 10, 16, 23, 36, 30 miles in the first week followed by 33 miles and a 48 mile run last week. The 48mile run was following Cleveleys Cycle Club's route on MapMyRide which went from Thornton to Ribchester and back. I did it in 3 hours 20mins and apart from a really sore backside, was reasonably OK. Yes it was hard going but felt much better than the 36mile ride I'd done the week before.
I went out on Wednesday morning to the Trough of Bowland and did a 42 mile route in 2 hours 53mins, felt knackered which was to be expected, but when I got home the ache in my legs was awful ( once i'd stopped riding ). I was in quite some discomfort and it took a hot shower to eleviate some of the pain.
Thing is I'm doing the route again with my best mate ( who got me into cycling ) and he is a bit of a fitness freak ( 8% body fat he proudly tells me - sod! ) and, as we will be doing more training together, don't want to be left behind too much.