Surfing / Wetsuits

Pross
Pross Posts: 43,163
edited June 2012 in The bottom bracket
A mate of mine is making me a surfboard so that I can get in the water on my regular visits to Devon (he normally makes hollow timber boards but is making me an EPS board with wood veneer to trial a new technique for himself, 8' long to help a complete novice to stand up!!).

I've just been looking at getting a winter wetsuit as I currently only have a shorty for bodyboarding in the summer. However, the choice of sizes is mind boggling and makes choosing a bike frame seem simple with each manufacturer having different size ranges. Despite that none seem to quite be the right fit - if I choose one to suit my height (and often weight) then the waist seems to be too big or, dropping down to a tall version of the next size down the waist is too small! The closest I can get seems to be a Billabong medium tall. I'm sure there are a few of you out there into watersports (or just wearing a wetsuit to that 'special club' at the weekend). What would you say is the key dimension? I assume height is most important for comfort but I'm also aware that I don't want anything too baggy or it won't work as effectively.

I need to check my measurements as I suspect my real waist size is larger than the 32" waist I now get for trousers but think I'll be something like:-

Height 6' 1.5"
Weight 180lbs
Chest 40"
Waist 34"

Any advice greatly received. I know the best thing would be to try some on but there aren't many shops in this area that sell wetsuits and those that do don't have a great range of stock (plus I feel it is unfair to use them to get measured up and then buy online but the cost savings mean an internet purchase is almost a must as the shops I've been in haven't got enough choice or items on sale).

Comments

• ddraver
    ddraver Posts: 26,661