Viking VK500 - anyone heard of it?

gazngaz
gazngaz Posts: 4
edited April 2012 in Road beginners
Hi all....

Newbie here who's looking for a first road bike.

I have seen one of these for sale but can't find anything about it on the net.

Can anyone help/does anyone know of this bike?

Gary

Comments

• amaferanga
    amaferanga Posts: 6,789
    AIUI Viking make BSOs. Best avoided unless you're just after something very cheap.
    More problems but still living....
  • Duffer65
    Duffer65 Posts: 341
    Hello,

Is it new or second hand? Couldn't find much about that model. But looking at the Viking website I would be tempted to go for a bike from a recognised brand (Trek, Giant, Specialized etc) for my first road bike, as you know you are getting something reasonable. But, if it's what you are after and you just want to get something cheap to see if you'll like 'road cycling'...
    Where would you be if you fell down a hole?.. Stuck down a hole... in the fog... Stuck down a hole, in the fog, at night... WITH AN OWL!
  • gazngaz
    Hi Amaferanga

Thanks for your posting but what is AIUI and Viking BSOs?
  • gazngaz
    Hi Duffer65

It's a second hand bike, i have been to look at it and apart from needing a bit of a service it's in good condition with just a few cosmetic scratches.

I can get the Viking for £150 and as it's a first bike then i thought this was ok especially as I may possibly decide to not continue with it.

I have seen a Trek 1.2 racer for £280 and the reviews of these are really good but as a first bike i didn't want to spend that much (again just incase I don't keep up road biking)
  • Duffer65
    Duffer65 Posts: 341
    BSO = Bike Shaped Object, a term for cheap bikes sold in supermarkets, online and some Halfords brands etc.