Fat burning commute + Muscle building. Possible?

mq13
mq13 Posts: 4
edited April 2012 in Health, fitness & training
Hi all,

Right. So after too many years not riding, drinking and being pretty much couch-bound I've decided to try and get back in shape...or rather in shape. I'm 5'11, 166lbs and not overweight but a bit doughy to say the least. I'm looking to build up my arms, shoulders, chest and back. I'm not thinking Mr. Universe or powerlifting but a healthy amount of muscle and definition would be nice.

To that end I'm trying to build a routine aroundng a 7 mile round trip commute every day with maybe some swimming on a Tuesday for fitness and then some body weight / dumbbell / barbell exercises of an evening Mon/Wed/Fri to build muscle.

I have NEVER done anything like this before, just rested on my natural motabolism...which is probably going to start slipping soon (I'm 28 in July).

I've heard that muscle building and cardio stuff are at loggerheads with eachother in regards to fuel, nutrition etc so I'm not sure if this is even possible. There's just too much information out there for a complete beginner and it's usually tailored either to muscle building OR fitness through cycling.

Has anyone got any tips / experiences that may be helpful? Links are appreciated but first hand knowledge would be good. Also, what direction should I take with diet (Carbs, protein etc.).

The information overload is intimidating to say the least!

Cheers,
-Mark

Comments

• agg25
    agg25 Posts: 619
    I've got similar aims myself, I have a 18 miles commute which I do about 4 days a week, also do 2 gym sessions per week at lunch time and trying to throw a 5km run in at least once a week now as well.
    I race XC a bit, do the odd marathon, but I don't want to turn into a stick figure that a lot of the serious racers turn out like. I'm also training for the Tough Mudder in Nov so need a bit of upper body strength.

What works for me is -
    2 protein drinks a day