Scott Genius 60 rear suspension break

Chrisrebbeck
Chrisrebbeck Posts: 133
edited December 2015 in MTB workshop & tech
Picked up my new Scott genius on Wednesday and broke it at Cwmcarn on Friday. It's my first forray into full suss after getting into the sport with a Scott scale last summer. I am a self confessed tech geek so the rear suspension really interested me on the genius and I managed to get an amazing deal on a 2011 bike. However I am now really apprehensive I have bought a dog. I pumped up the rear shock to the recommended pressures on Thursday and used it for a couple of hours at Halton forest. I didn't re check the shock at Cwmcarn which I think is an error as half way through on the rough stuff in full suss mode it started to bottom out a little. ( for info I weight 85kg). Eventually there was a large bang and the bolt at the top of the rear shock had come out of its housing. I was gutted and am worried it may just happen again. Had anyone else had similar issues with their genius or indeed has anyone got really positive comments about the bike before I ey to dismayed! Must admit before it went it rode like a dream and put a massive smile on my face. Will attempt to post pictures. LBS seemed embarrassed and took it straight off me promising to get it sorted.they blamed a lack of lock tight on the bolt but I wonder if it was never set up properly or is a weak area.

Comments

• bennett_346
    bennett_346 Posts: 5,029
    You were probably running it too soft then bottomed out harshly. Put more pressure in this time. The difficulty you have is because it is a pull shock you have no sag to go off to set it up.
  • bennett_346
    bennett_346 Posts: 5,029
    Holy crap :shock: That must of been frightening!