Buying my first womens mountain bike - In need of dire help!

rl9018
rl9018 Posts: 5
edited April 2012 in MTB buying advice
Hi everyone!

I'm new to bikeradar and in need of lots and lots of help for buying my first mountain bike. I am so lost and overwhelmed by all the information, what to buy/not to buy, which is the best brands etc. I think nearly every thread I have read has at least 1 conflicting opinion against EVERY bike. So hard to make a decision! So, I was wondering if anyone out there could help me. I am ideally wanting a mountain bike to go on woodland trails/forest trails, a women's mountain bike, high quality components, no more than £700 (from what I've seen this could be tricky for a well made mtb)and a bike that wont be too sluggish. I have looked at the Carrera Vulcan, seen so much conflicting stories that it has kind of put me off of it. I have been looking at Giant bikes (cant decide which one though) was recommended Giant as a great make. Anyone know a model that would be well suited? Also, till very recently been very much in favour for a Boardman mtb. However, once again slightly hesitant due to the fact a lot of people were saying that it is very much made to look good but doesn't handle so good. An essential I would like on my "ideal bike" would be hydraulic disc brakes. I hope I haven't just described an impossibly ridiculous bike that cant possibly be made (we'll put it down to me being a rookie if it turns that way!) Fingers crossed someone out there has thee perfect recommendation of a bike for me!! Many many thanks in advance :)

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    First off you don't "need" a women's bike - geomery can vary so much between brands than some men's bikes have more womanly angles than others ladies bikes! Sure they will have more comfortable saddles, but this is an easy swap. Go for wht fits and feels best.