Another new rider

dakkar
dakkar Posts: 64
edited April 2012 in MTB beginners
Hi Everybody,
Fairly new to MTB ing althogh plenty of road biking and just spent the weekend in the Lakes yesterday on the North Face trail at Grizedale and today on the Winlatter Altura red north and south routes. Can't believe how much fun I had and how exilerating the whole experience was, I don't know what I have been doing with my life. I'm riding a Gary Fisher alu hard tail which seems to bounce around on the back end lot. As a newbie I have to be honest and say I came off a couple of times. A few times on the banked curves on the steep descents don't know whether I was breaking too much and taking them too cautiously. Another time I went over the handle bars on a drop off at the end of the north loop on Winlater having managed to negotiate similar drop-offs around the course, a bit winded but I got back on to finish.

What I did notice where guys passing me and going faster than me on fully sussed bikes, is this an obvious question but do fully sussed holed the tracks better rather than the back end bouncing around like my hard tail or is it that I'm a newbie and just need to build up experience?

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Depends on the bike and rider - what bikes did they have?
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Generally at trail centres a hardtail is as fast as a full susser, bear in mind that a full susser going the same speed as you, you'd never see as you'd neither catch nor be caught by it, better riders with more experience are 'more likely' (cue flaming) to be on a more expensive bike and probably FS's.

You get used to the back end bouncing a bit, and staying out the saddle more and letting your legs be the rear sus, I suspect you may have tired towards the end and not got the front end up over the drop off, hence your OTB moment.