help to increase speed over 100km?

ianbar
ianbar Posts: 1,354
edited April 2012 in Road beginners
hello, i am quite new to cycling started pretty much a year ago. i am set to do the big g cyclosportive in july. this year i am doing the 100km route. i have been riding 3-4 rides per wee averaging near or just over 100 miles per week the last month or so. my last 2 longer rides were 45 miles 13.1mph 2200 ft climbing and 55 miles 12.9mph 2800ft climbing. have been trying to hit the local climbs a lot more recent weeks and feel progress has been made but no massive increase in overall speed. is there any advice for some training techniques to increase my overall speed? i am 6'3 and near to 16 stone(i know weightless will help) and i have been trying to get on the drops more to reduce the wind resistance. thank you
enigma esprit
cannondale caad8 tiagra 2012

Comments

• t.m.h.n.e.t
    t.m.h.n.e.t Posts: 2,265
    The first thing to consider is 55miles= 88km. IMO:to ride 100km comfortably one would need to be capable of pushing 100+,this would be before any increase in speed is expected.
  • I always focussed on riding distances and felt my averages didn't improve much. This winter I've been doing 20 mins max, spin for 10 and repeat. First time I did this I could only manage to hold 20mph (on the turbo) after a few times I could hold 25-26 mph with a sprint at the end of each 20mins. I've also been riding with a club a few times and the average is 18-20mph and although its in a group, its held for a longer duration and is on the road. The outcome of this is that I can hold 17-18mph fairly easily on my now over a couple of hours (and was reflected in how I felt at a sportive two weeks ago) - I figure you have to train faster to ride faster - just increasing the distance all the time isn't going to make you fast.

Having said that my brother challenged me to ride up to his house this summer - thats 186 miles in a day - I may need to get some distances in again!!