Am i doing it right?

mosa
mosa Posts: 754
edited April 2012 in Road beginners
Hello there i have just started on a road bike quite recently and have just bought a Trek Madone 4.7 2009. I have been doing the odd 5 mile circuit with a 10 in there at times. I have just also recently done my first 21mile ride which wasnt that bad 16mph average and took 1hr 18mins i think. As i am new to this before i go out about 1 hr or so before i have some wholemeal pasta and tuna. When out on the bike i either use a gel or put an additive in my water bottle. When i return i have some whey protien within 20 mins or so of getting in. Then i have the protien again the morning after. I usualy try to ride 1 day on 1 day off but i am not really strict around this. My questions are am i fueling myself ok or is there a better way to do it.

I could never understand how people wanted to get out on their bike all the time but i am getting that way now. I have just bought a old vintage Raleigh to use when wet etc to keep my good one clean.

I also fogot to add i am currently trying to lose weight (started at 15s10lbs now 14s dead) i think i want to stabilize around 13.5 so dont realy want to put any weight on.

Thanks in advance for any replies as i am keen to get it right.
My bikes

2018 Trek Emonda SL6 Pro

Comments

• andy46
    andy46 Posts: 1,666
    Everybody's different. That would be too much for me but if it works for you, then fine.
    2019 Ribble CGR SL

2015 Specialized Roubaix Sport sl4

2014 Specialized Allez Sport
  • sungod
    sungod Posts: 17,161
    unless you are going hard for >1hr there's no need to take on extra while riding, water is enough

if you want to drop weight, then output > input, which depends on total work and feeding, not just bike related

imho just get plenty of fresh veg and lean protein, with complex carbs rather than energy gels/drinks, it'll be cheaper, better for you, and taste nicer too :-)
    my bike - faster than god's and twice as shiny