First ride

Technik
Technik Posts: 35
edited April 2012 in Road beginners
Hi everyone

I'm completely new to road bikes but not new to cycling. I've had a bike since I can remember but since I had my last mtb stolen I haven't been out for over 2 years. Recently decided to get back on it and bought a Battaglin road bike with road shoes. So now, my first ride - clipping on to the bike is something new to me so two falls later and I think I'm getting use to it :lol: The only downside is that you can't walk properly off the bike but I couldn't get the mtb shoes/cleats as I have a problem with one of my feet and need to have a wider platform. The bike feels completely different than any mtb I ever rode, less stable maybe, but I do like it. I only went for a short 6 mile ride but had to stop every mile or so which means that I'm seriously out of shape and my leg muscles aren't as good as they use to be.
Will try and do short rides every day after work and longer ones (around 10-15m) on weekends and see how fast will I need to recover.
Any advice appreciated.

Comments

• Simmotino
    Simmotino Posts: 295
    Technik wrote:
    Any advice appreciated.

The legs will come with time and the more you ride, the easier it will get.

For unclipping, try and anticipate when you'll need to unclip for lights, junctions etc, and twist out the foot you intend to put down, but don't move it too far from the pedal. That way if you find you don't actually need to stop, you can just press it back in and carry on or, if you do, you'll already be unclipped and ready to go. Don't worry though, you aren't the first, and you sure as billy-o won't be the last! :lol:

First and foremost, enjoy it! :D
  • Technik