Elixir 3 - am I asking too much

Craigfssnow
Craigfssnow Posts: 9
edited April 2012 in MTB beginners
Newbie question: are my brakes not as efficient as they should be?
I have a Rockrider 8.1 with elixir 3. I am new to mountain biking and having recovered from a cracked sternum when I was GBH'd by an oak tree, I am keen to get back out but the front brake on my new chariot is causing me some concern. Yes it brakes but it is somewhat gradual. When talking to friends, they suggest that I should feel like I am going over the handlebars if I merely touch the front brake, let alone pull it quite hard. Without being juvenile, I have to pull it very hard to make it work! I have worn the brakes in, it has had its six week after sale service. I am quite anal in keeping the brakes clean and uncontaminated. Am I asking too much of the brakes. I know it's not the most expensive bike/brake combination so if people shoot me down in flames for being a miser, fair enough but if this does sound abnormal at least I can justify to the wife that an upgrade will literally pay for itself (bless her). Thanks in anticipation

Comments

• Greer_
    Greer_ Posts: 1,716
    Sounds like pads or disc may have become contaminated even if you were careful with them. Try cleaning the rotor and pads with white spirit or degreaser and then lightly sand the pads to give them a rough finish again. Does the lever feel spongy at all?
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Your friends are exaggerating. Maybe try their bikes and see how they feel. It should stop you easily though.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • I've ordered some new pads. The fountain of knowledge at decathlon drained the fluid and said it should be sufficient for my needs. I am a big old unit so appreciate it will take more to stop than some of the waifs at work. Thanks for replying.
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812