Building a bike

bleasy
bleasy Posts: 98
edited April 2012 in MTB beginners
Hi guys i was just wondering if anyone could help me, im new to mountain biking (well i did it 15years ago) im looking for a hardcore hardtail with about 140mm travel things like saracen zen x, on one 456 evo, ragley ble pig, orange crush i was thinking of maybe having ago at buiding my own ( i know it will probably cost more) but im not sure of the full list of parts i need to build a bike, so if anyone can help me then i can search the internet for bargins and see what i can come up with.

Comments

• vala
    vala Posts: 197
    I'm building mine up at the moment. How I've done it is just step by step, I didn't have a complete list of all that I wanted. As I've progressed onwards I've just looked into and researched the next bits.
    After getting the frame for me the first things was the headset, BB and seat clamp. I've then moved onto the forks and have recently just received my wheel set. It's now in a sort of rolling state.
    Next thing I'm moving onto is the drivetrain and in the meantime keeping a look out for a set of brakes.
    Personally for me I've done it this way because as it becomes more and more like a bike you can then size yourself up for things like handlebars, stem length, crank arm lengths etc.
    For me it's taken some time because near enough everything is second hand so it's just being lucky at the right time when I'm looking for a particular part.
  • benpinnick
    benpinnick Posts: 4,148
    Actually, building you're own can be cheaper! Heres one I just made for my Brother in Law:

On One 456 Carbon
    Revelation RLT Forks (Merlin)
    XT Brakes (Rose Bikes)
    SLX Groupset (Action-Sports)
    Roval AM Wheels (Evans)
    Easton Haven Bars (Merlin)
    RF Ride Stem (Evans)
    Grips, Rotors, Rotor bolts, 160 PM-IS mount, Seatpost clamp (Superstar)
    Kenda SB8 (Next day tyres)
    Cane Creek 40 Headset, Tubes (My LBS)