Advice for a beginner

MonkFunk
MonkFunk Posts: 91
edited April 2012 in MTB beginners
Hi,

Just starting up and will be picking up a Rockrider 8.1 next week. I'm really excited and have been reading lots of beginner guides etc but I was after some advice..........

I see that it comes with SPD pedals and as a total novice, I'm a bit unsure what to do as I have never used them before. As well as going out on my own I will be using the bike for gentle family rides (with my 18mth old on the back) so that also makes me worried about being clipped in.

So.......Should I give them a go and try to get used to them or just swap the pedals for flats straight away? At this stage I have no serious ambitions - just riding for fun/fitness. If I do swap them, will Decathlon be able to do it there and then? And what should I be looking for in a flat pedal? Any recommendations?

Cheers

Comments

• 1mancity2
    1mancity2 Posts: 2,355
    If you use them you need a shoe that will allow you to clip into the pedal,

swap them for flats straight away then once your more confident/used to the bike think about it again.

It fairly easy to swap them over, welligo do some decent cheap flats.
    Finished, Check out my custom Giant Reign 2010
    Dirt Jumper Dmr Sidekick2
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    I'd swap them, you will topple over. Decathlon should be able to sort it out then and there, two minute job.
    Some decent flats - Wellgo are good and have a large variety, but as a temporary measure, anything really if you are just taking it easy.
    Pair of these - cheap and good.
    http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Mode ... elID=19214
    Pair of these if you want nice and light - you'll find them cheaper on Ebay probably
    http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Mode ... elID=44059
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • Chunkers1980
    Chunkers1980 Posts: 8,035