Help with training doing paris to oxford

littlejane
littlejane Posts: 15
edited April 2012 in Road beginners
I am a total newbie to road cycling and am about 5ft nothing. I have been doing loads of spin classes but as I have found out it doesn't compare to being on the road. I have been training since late Feb and am now up to 60 miles. I am trying to do 25 miles each night with an average speed of 16. I am due to do the Paris to Oxford bike ride on 1st June. We will be going from arc de triomphe in Paris to blenheim palace and doing it all in three days, so averaging nearly 100 miles a day. I am addicted but am struggling. I really need help with nutrition and or extra training as one day I can feel great and really fit and today doing the same route I am shattered. What am I doing wrong? Please help!!! Jane x

Comments

• cyco2
    cyco2 Posts: 593
    You're probably not stoking up with enough energy rich drinks and food. If you're eating normally then take something calorie rich before hand to start your ride then keep drinking it. There is a lot on drinks etc. on this site a couple are below.

viewtopic.php?f=40011&t=12842225
    http://www.bikeradar.com/fitness/articl ... onk-17082/

I would think you should plan at least 50 this w/e but more if you have a wheel to draught. You need to ramp the distances up each w/e because getting long miles in to build stamina should be your main aim. Your average speed is pretty good for 25 miles so on some evenings increase the distance. 300 miles in 3 days is some going but if you're in company I guess you'll be okay.

But get your energy/recovery drinks sorted.
    ...................................................................................................

If you want to be a strong rider you have to do strong things.
    However if you train like a cart horse you'll race like one.
  • JohnBoyUK
    JohnBoyUK Posts: 206