Help a Newbie

russyh
russyh Posts: 1,375
edited April 2012 in Road beginners
Hi All,
I am new to road riding, and so far i am hooked. 3 of us have recently started evening and weekend rides and we are hoping for another 2 to join us.

I have a question about the technical aspect (now please understand i am a complete Newbie)

Can someone explain to me the best upgrade path for a bike? and how easy it is to carry out upgrades yourself? I have an entry level bike, but part of the attraction of road riding to me is the messing around with the bike itself. I know it may be cheaper in the long run to just swap bikes but would like to use my first bike as a test bed for the future.

As an example if i wanted to upgrade to a 105 Rear Mech, what do i need to look out for? i understand there are different cage lengths etc. But why? IS there an internet or printed bible to help bring me upto speed as browsing through the forums is still baffling to me.

Thanks in advance and sorry to post a first question which may sound stupid.

Comments

• pbt150
    pbt150 Posts: 316
    Upgrading components like mechs will have no perceivable effect on your bike, all you'll do is save a few grammes in weight. Even entry level mechs are perfectly good these days, and should last several thousand miles.

If you absolutely MUST upgrade something - what tyres do you have on your bike? Any what wheels? These will have the biggest effect on comfort and speed.
  • g00se
    g00se Posts: 2,221
    Tinkering with the bike is great fun - but it can turn out expensive compared to buying new. However, if you're idea of fun on a wet Sunday nigth is trawling through ebay and websites for a discounted bit of quality kit - like me - then it's very rewarding and bargains can still be had.

I'd say use your cheap bike for now. Then, when you have a better idea on what your ideal bike is, you can keep the old one for winter training and either buy or build the new machine.