Am I being ripped off?

pumpers
pumpers Posts: 26
edited April 2012 in MTB workshop & tech
I've got a Cube Ltd Pro, 11 months old.

I'm pretty new to cycling in general and am not confident mechanically.
The shop where i got it from have a lifetime service policy so i sent it in for a service.

I've just had a phone call telling me the bike needs the following

new headset
new chain
new casette
new bottom bracket
jockey wheels are almost shot as well.

£203 !!!!!

the bike has covered approx 1500miles, mostly easy trail riding but some more adventurous off road stuff round ladybower.

I clean and lube the bike,use a hose followed by a bucket and sponge to clean it. Guy at shop is telling me that this is normal and just wear and tear. Says the headset is knackered because I turn the bike upside down when I hose it off and all the muck drops into the stearing tube and it's knackered the bearings. Has said that the rest is just wear and tear/usage and is normal depending on how it's used.

I have used it but don't believe I've abused it !! The bike was £900 and I expected it to last me a bit longer than this before requiring this sort of maintenance. Funnily enough none of the parts are covered under the warranty !!

your thoughts please.

thnaks.

Craig

Comments

• benpinnick
    benpinnick Posts: 4,148
    Yes, or at least you are if you're a competant mechanic.

Headset: Quite expensive for a decent one, but you could replace the stock FSA for around £30. or just the bearings for even less (about £2) - which is probably all you need.
    Chain: £20
    Cassette: £30
    BB: £15

Jockey wheels, well, you could buy a new mech for £30. jockey wheels are around £15 (oddly expensive) So all in all thats £110 for the parts (If you get a NEW headset). The rest must be labour! Which sounds a lot for less than an hours work.
    A Flock of Birds
    + some other bikes.
  • benpinnick
    I can well believe its all necessary BTW.
    A Flock of Birds
    + some other bikes.