complete noob needs Help with upgrading gears

The Beard Rustler
The Beard Rustler Posts: 23
edited April 2012 in MTB beginners
having not ridden a bike for at least 15 years i recently decided to get back into it. I got talked into the truly awful Specialized Hardrock SE from the local cycle shop and am already regretting this!
i am looking to upgrade the gears into something more useful on a limited budget but dont have the first idea where to start or what to look for! instead of the really low gears that i am never going to use i want a couple more higher ones to let me go a bit faster and generally just a better range to choose from.
any advice on what to look for on a limited budget?

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    The 'cassette' they say they have specced is a screw on freewheel, with a 14tooth high gear. Unfortunately to get a higher gear (ie a smaller cog, say 11tooth) you will need to replace the whole back wheel.
  • it says the "cassette replaces the freewheel mechanism of years past for lighter weight and more durability" on description tho, is this just the usual sales bs?
    so i guess there is no cheap option to do this then?
  • supersonic
    We tested the SE - the tester mentions freewheel:

http://www.bikeradar.com/gear/category/ ... e-12-45790

Though it could have been a cassette, or some spec changes. You can check though:

freewheel-vs-k7.jpg
  • thanks for the replies. kinda wish i would have come here to read the reviews on the SE before buying! i will have a look and see if i can figure out which one it has. if it is the freehweel im thinking it may be time to get onto specialized for a free upgrade to what was described!
  • supersonic
    If it is a cassette, easiest way forward would be to simply replace what is on with this:

http://www.fatbirds.co.uk/26182/product ... --28T.aspx
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    The outer face of a Freewheel looks like this