Wearing Glasses while Mountain Biking

2»

Comments

• YeehaaMcgee
    YeehaaMcgee Posts: 5,740
    deadkenny wrote:
    I know from a skiing perspective, yellow is usually good for flat light in the snow, which is dull light and you can't make out definition in the snow. The yellow helps a lot. Blue for night skiing under flood lights, and assume similar for night rides on bikes with lights.
    I'm new to the world of snow goggles, but have noticed that the best for flat light isn't "yellow" as much as a strange orangey-amber. Yellow just seems to make things worse!
    Not sure why these colours work, but aren't they linked with snow's inherent whiteness? So although they may translate to MTBing, or be a good approximation, I'm not sure if the exact same lenses would help in quite the same way.
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Yeah, there are loads of types. Think my goggles were yellow gold so the box said but the leaflet had dozens of different types listed. These were perhaps a little more amber than yellow, for general use with preference for flat light according to the box. Then there are ones that really are only any good for flat, some that are more of a mixed use not great for flat which were the purple-ish ones I had. Found those terrible in flat light but great in blazing sun, but found my yellow tint bike specs were great in the flat so went for yellow-ish goggles and they were perfect.
  • S-M
    S-M Posts: 174
    I only take them off for steep climbs.
    1999 Specialized FSR Elite MAX Backbone.
    1998 Specialized FSR Ground Control - stripped for parts.
    2011 Boardman Pro HT - SOLD! (low quality, expensive garbage)
  • flappy8
    flappy8 Posts: 172