SOS: Tips to gain speed for a total newb

tommy81
tommy81 Posts: 10
edited April 2012 in Road beginners
Hi,
I've just started road biking, went for my first ride ever, 20k in the Peak yesterday. I started off feeling a little dispondent, as I didn't seem to be going very fast. Took 5mins to get use to changing the gears and just being on a road bike.
However, about half way round, after talking to my friend, we put the seat up 2 inches from how it was set up for me in the bike shop. I couldn't believe the difference this made. I was suddenly getting close to keeping up with my friends.
Then I got into a rythm and found that by going into a gear with more resistence, I actually found the cycling easier once I got the momentum going.
First question, is there anything obvious I could be missing or should look for to gain additional speed?
Also, I'm currently cycling in old floppy running shoes, with some loose fitting cages on the pedals provided free by the bike shop. Am I going to notice a significant difference if I switch to SPDs?
Bearing in mind I'm training for sprint triathlons, so distances of about 25k.
Thanks for the patience, any help appreciated for a total noob.
Cheers
Tom

Comments

• charliew87
    charliew87 Posts: 371
    My limited experience (started in November), is that the more you cycle the quicker you get.

First ride was a 6 miler I did @ 14mph. Did a 50 miler @ 16 last weekend, and do the same 6 mile loop from day 1 at 19mph now.

Keep putting in the miles, and yes, some SPDs and matching shoes should speed things up a bit.
    Canyon AL Ultimate 9.0
  • petejuk
    petejuk Posts: 235
    Hi Tom and welcome to road cycling. From my experience, there are a number of things you can do to improve your speed on the bike:
    1. Firstly, make sure your tyres are up to or around the highest pressure (find out on the sidewall of the tyre). This makes a big difference to ride performance and handling.