How do you find the right saddle?

Kingy911
Kingy911 Posts: 134
edited March 2012 in Road beginners
Evening all. I am new to cycling, doing 25-30 miles comfortably, well, when I say comfortably I am usually a little saddle sore but nothing too painful or excruciating. The question is, does saddle sore ever go away ? or is it a case of searching and searching for that magical saddle and probably spending hundreds trying to find it.
To give you a background, I am a lard arse, 5ft 8" 14st 7lbs. If there is a magical answer I would be eternally grateful :D

Comments

• Frank pole
    Frank pole Posts: 112
    Finding a comfy saddle is the holy Grail - charge spoon is a popular saddle on here at 20.00 you have not lost a lot if it's not for you! Good luck!
  • ugo.santalucia
    ugo.santalucia Posts: 28,310
    It's not the saddle... Get a chamois Cree with antibacterial and you will reduce the chances of a sore becoming infected. After the ride dry the area well and use some baby powder or similar to keep it dry. Look at better shorts with a pad which works for you...
    Saddle wise I like brooks of course.the stiffer, the better. Saddle sores are due to friction,moisture, sweat and bacteria... Nothing to do with how softer hard the saddle is.
    left the forum March 2023
  • Eyon
    Eyon Posts: 623
    If only there was a magic formula, I've now tried 6 saddles and I'm still not happy.

Next on list, most likely a a Fizik Antares
  • petemadoc
    petemadoc Posts: 2,331
    trial and error

+

deep pockets
  • alihisgreat
    alihisgreat Posts: 3,872
    You can get measured for a saddle, the specialized BG fit system included this and it helps to get the right width for you.