Switching Tyres

LeicesterLad
LeicesterLad Posts: 3,908
edited March 2012 in Road beginners
I have been riding on gatorskins for a few years now and fancy switching to GP4000s. I rode some gp's briefly a few years ago but can't really remember the ride. What sort of difference will the 4000s make to my ride, I want puncture resistance but I am finding the gatorskins a bit sluggish this year and have read about the rolling resistance benefit of the GPs, is this to be believed? Will I notice a marked difference?

Cheers muchly.

Comments

• ddraver
    ddraver Posts: 26,662
    I'm not sure compared to gatorskins, but after 2 rides, I'm a fan of my GP4000 S's (25 front, 23mm rear) - Stunning deals on Conti tyres at bike-discount.de at the mo too - basically 2 for 1 compared to RRP

I went from a knackered set of 28mm 4 seasons however so I don't think I ve done a totally fair test...
    We're in danger of confusing passion with incompetence
    - @ddraver
  • cornerblock
    cornerblock Posts: 3,228
    I've run both, currently using GP4000's. Can't say I've noticed that much difference. The 4000's are great for performance with good puncture resistance.
  • rake
    rake Posts: 3,204
    i tried gp4000s for 1 ride and gave them away, they rode like hosepipes and punctured on dry roads.
  • LeicesterLad
    LeicesterLad Posts: 3,908
    I'm finding so many Extremely positive reviews of the GP4000S, but i'm also finding some Extremely negative, there seems to be no middle ground. Some people saying they punture constantly, some people saying they have covered 3000miles without a puncture and that they roll incredible quickly...hmm, DDraver - will deffinately check out that site, seems most places have them at about £39 each :shock: i'm no tight arse but come on....
  • ddraver
    ddraver Posts: 26,662
    EUR 27 for mine, which is still about GBP27 but.... ;)