Best budget kit for sportives? 100-150 mile

Rich1966
Rich1966 Posts: 2
edited March 2012 in Road beginners
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to cycling and I'm signed up to do a few sportives and charity rides. They're around 100 miles to 150 miles.
I've recently got myself a specialized sectuer 2012 so bike wise im fine (last year I did the charity ride birmingham to southall(west london) on my old mountain bike so this bike will be a breeze . . . . well in comparison) I managed to finish the ride last year but was very difficult on a full susspension bike so I should be ok with the distance again but I wouldnt mind making it a little easier on myself if possible.

I was wondering on what is the best things to take with me in regards to in my bag and tyres/inertubes?
Basically any advice really arart from a new bike!!! ha ha
Oh and as the title says I'm on a bit of a budget for the kit so middle range gear really, I want it to be decent for what I'm doing but I'm not competing on any level, just along for the ride!!

Thanks alot

Rich

Comments

• rpd_steve
    rpd_steve Posts: 361
    On long rides keep a flat kit at all times. I keep mine in a small saddle bag (Halfords do some neat quick releace ones) and some prefer to keep it in their jersy pockets, but it should incude: 1-2 inner tubes, Patch kit/instant patches, multitool, £10 cash, tyre boot, co2 inflater & refills.

Some prefer a pump over co2, but co2 gives you 120 psi so very quickly and is as light as a pump and cheaper than any small pump that can do 100psi+. The flip side is its a 1 shot per cartridge but its ment for emergancies only...

I dont need to use tyre levers with my combo, just the right mix of shouting and sore thumbs, but my wheel quick releace handles work perfectly if I need to - if yours are not sutible or you alwayse need levers then chuck in a pair of tyre levers too.