What have I done!!! Charity Bike Ride Help

Oliver19
Oliver19 Posts: 97
edited March 2012 in Road beginners
Hi All,

I am very new to road biking but have done a lot of MTB'ing and I am physically fit from many other sports that I also do at a high level.

I have been roped into doing my first Charity Bike Ride- Wolverhampton to Aberdovey on Friday 22nd June 2012. It is 105 miles in one day, I know it wont be easy but I am after lots of advice. There are several check points along the way with food etc.

What do I need to do to prepare for it?
What equipment is a must?
What should I carry with me?
What food should I take?

What else do I need to know?

Thanks in advance :)

Comments

• Pseudonym
    Pseudonym Posts: 1,032
    Oliver19 wrote:

What do I need to do to prepare for it? - ride your bike
    What equipment is a must? - a bike
    What should I carry with me? - multitool, tubes, tyre levers
    What food should I take? - hi-carb food that you like the taste of

What else do I need to know? - you're worrying too much.
  • Oliver19
    Pseudonym wrote:
    Oliver19 wrote:

What do I need to do to prepare for it? - ride your bike
    What equipment is a must? - a bike
    What should I carry with me? - multitool, tubes, tyre levers
    What food should I take? - hi-carb food that you like the taste of

What else do I need to know? - you're worrying too much.

Pseudonym, Thanks for the quick reply. Probably am worrying a little too much as I am not sure what the organisation of this event is like! I am hopefully collecting my bike tomorrow, a Trek 1.7. Once I have this it will be my main transport to work and around as I hope to reduce the miles in the car!

Any one got experience of this Wolverhampton to Aberdovey ride?
  • danlikesbikes
    danlikesbikes Posts: 3,898
    Prepare - ride slowly but steadily build up your miles
    Equipment - bike, helmet, puncture repair kit and possibly multi tool