Using Commuting as Training

project4cycling
project4cycling Posts: 24
edited April 2012 in Commuting general
For the last few months I've been following a training plan entirely based around commuting. I write about it at http://www.project4cycling.com. The blog tries to show how commuting can help you achieve your potential as a cyclist.

I'd love to know anyone else who has tried something similar. Or if you are thinking about it, what do you think of the blog?

Comments

• I've just discovered your blog and have signed up.
    I've been commuting 40 mile roundtrip for 5 years now, started at 17 stone 10 lbs, dropped to 16 stone and stuck. I'm 5' 7" so according to statistics am about 4 stone overweight, but I feel really good in myserlf. The problem I have is that, though, I love my commute, I've got into a rut, and don't push myself. If I tried your project I might kickstart losing some weight, and also eat sensibly. So keep the project going and I'll have a go as well. Cheers.
    k.curtis
  • Hi Kieron, I really appreciate your feedback.You are exactly the sort of person I hoped would read this because you are just like me. I'm a normal guy who loves to ride, but I'm not, well an A-group rider. Yet.

I'm a bit taller than you, but I was 17+ stone. Now I'm just under 14. However, I also got stuck at just under 15 before I started doing this. I've very gradually lost weight since then, but more to the point I'm a lot thinner, but stronger at the same time. I also have less niggles in knees, back and so on.

My email address is on the About me page on the blog. Drop me a line and I'll send you a rough spreadsheet with my training plan in it. Or you can wait a couple of weeks and I'll publish a how to guide on the blog (given work and everything else it might not be two weeks, but hey, it'll be there soon).