Which bike? 2012 26er or 29er?

MrTibbs
MrTibbs Posts: 21
edited March 2012 in MTB buying advice
Hi all,

I'm after some advice from those in the know.

Right - I'm looking for a hardtail to play around with on trails. I'm looking at entry level bikes at the moment and have pretty much narrowed it down to two. I was looking at eBay, but the security and bespoke service from my local shop seems like a better option as I'm no expert.

So I'm looking at the trusty old Rockhopper:

http://www.evanscycles.com/products/spe ... rockhopper

However, my local shop has thrown a spanner in the works and has suggested a 29er, the Giant, as an alternative:

http://www.giant-bicycles.com/en-us/bik ... 041/48915/

Both are the same price! I want to get a bike with a frame I can keep and upgrade the parts over the years - so this decision is whether I go traditional or opt for a bigger wheel.

I get the idea that a 29er is a faster more comfortable ride, but does it perform as well as a 26er on slower more technical routes?

Any thoughts?

Cheers in advance!

Comments

• tofu21
    tofu21 Posts: 359
    If I was you, I'd ride both on the trails you will be riding the most and see what you think.
  • MrTibbs
    I'd like to, but I don't think the shop would let me take them out, except on local roads...
  • tofu21
    tofu21 Posts: 359
    Find a different shop. Where are you based? I'm sure some people on here will have some recommendations of good bike shops in your area.

They may not be able to get you a ride on the exact bike but they should be able to get you a ride on a very simular one.
  • andy_welch
    andy_welch Posts: 1,101
    Well if you believe the hype in the mags 29" is the magic wheel size that will soon replace that old fashioned 26" rubbish and only a fool would buy a 26" bike. Says the man who has just done exactly that :D

Cheers

Andy
  • Personally I would only buy a 29er as a second bike to an existing 26". Wouldn't buy it as my only bike.