Replacement for CycleHire Commute

fredatkinson
fredatkinson Posts: 18
edited March 2012 in Commuting general
Hi all,

I'm quite a novice in terms of bikes, but basically I've been using the cycle hire scheme in London for about 6 months for a train-cycle commute (not a massive distance but it works out about 10 miles a day).

Obviously as it's getting a bit warmer, getting hold of bikes/spaces is becoming a real pain- so I'm looking to buy a replacement. My options I guess would either be to buy something fairly cheap and lock it up overnight (there is an underground car park with cycle racks by the station) or to invest in a folding bike. I know the first option sounds pretty stupid as the bike is almost guaranteed to get nicked, but it does mean I don't have to try and cram on a packed train with a foldable bike. Happy to spend about £300ish on a folding bike, and maybe £100-£150 on a cheap hybrid or whatever.

Just wanted to put it out there for suggestions- and see what you guys' think might be the way to go.

Thanks,

Fred,

Comments

• OSOH
    OSOH Posts: 153