Hand Pain

RedRowan
RedRowan Posts: 8
edited April 2012 in Health, fitness & training
Hi guys, bought myself a MTB last month in an attempt to get a little more active and raise my fitness level a bit. Been over 20 years since I was last on a bike but during the week I have been going out each morning and doing about 7-8 miles before work and then try to get out 2-3 times over the weekend.

Been enjoying the rides and certainly feel better for it but have noticed that my hands are quite sore after each ride. At first I figured it was just because I had not been on a bike for so long so got myself a pair of Endura Mighty Mitts to help. Now just on three weeks since I started riding and I still seem to be suffering a bit. Just wondering if getting hold of some wrist/power grips and using them each day to strengthen my hands will help or it is something else I need to look at?

Bike is a standard Hardrock Sport Disc if that helps.

Cheers

Steve

Comments

• 1mancity2
    1mancity2 Posts: 2,355
    common problem with new riders and most can be cured with simple adjustments to your controls, you might be gripping on too hard to the bars so try to relax, your brake levers could be at the wrong angle, a pic of your bars would help, the grips could be too big/small for your hands.
    Finished, Check out my custom Giant Reign 2010
    Dirt Jumper Dmr Sidekick2
  • RedRowan
    Thanks for the suggestions, if i think on I will take some shots of the bar setup and post them.

Steve
  • RedRowan
    Couple of quick picks of the bar setup taken with my iPod.

bars01.jpg

bars02.jpg

Steve
  • 1mancity2
    1mancity2 Posts: 2,355
    Levers don't look too low, try riding and not holding on as hard first, second try a different grip as they don't look very comfy to me.

It could just be your hands not being used to the positions etc, I used to get when I first started riding again.
    Finished, Check out my custom Giant Reign 2010
    Dirt Jumper Dmr Sidekick2
  • RedRowan