Full susp????

ac_neill@hotmail.com
edited March 2012 in MTB buying advice
Hi, I recently added a post 'which bike' I would really appreciate knowing for trail riding a xc trails do I really need a full susp? I am a beginner with no experience in moutain biking.

All advise really appreciated,

Happy Trails...

:0)

Comments

• andy_welch
    andy_welch Posts: 1,101
    No, of course you don't need full suss. People were riding up and down mountains long before any suspension was developed and there are still folk who can ride down pretty much anything on a fully rigid bike. The question is whether you want full suss though and only you can answer that.

Personally I do, but not because of any need (I don''t ride anything very technical), but because I ride to get out in the country and enjoy the view, so anything that means I can spend more time enjoying the view and less time watching the trail is good for me. Plus, bouncy bikes are fun :)

Cheers,

Andy
  • .blitz
    .blitz Posts: 6,197
    If you don't mind getting the sh1t beaten out of you on every ride then a HT will be fine. There's always a place for a HT and it's not the canal.
  • flappy8
    flappy8 Posts: 172
    Different people, different rides. A HT is a great way to learn how to ride and develop skills. The same money will buy you a good HT or a crap full suss. You really have to be in the 1500+ game to get anything decent in full suss new. I like going to the Peaks and its certainly more fun on a full suss IMHO and less tiring for a day out.
    MTB or Road - They are both good!
  • Ok, sweet. Thank You for all of your input. Its a hard call...obviously if I had the dough I would buy a decent full suss...

I don't, the only option I have full suss is a 'Mongoose Salvo Comp' Any good?

or an orange p7 or Specialized rockhopper expert HT?

Any opions please? Thanks...
  • snowjho
    snowjho Posts: 108