Faster or Farther?

ahstueyman
ahstueyman Posts: 76
edited March 2012 in Road beginners
Im fairly new to road riding, brief history when i was younger in mtb 4x and bmx but new when it comes to uphill struggles and going the distance.

My question to the knowledgable folk on here is: Should be focusing on going father, currently doing 17-30 mile routes, could probably up to 50 if i was wanting to really push myself....or carry on the sort of distances im doing but look to up my speed which at the moment I feel is relatively slow, doing the 17 mile ride in pretty much bang on an hour and doing 30 miles in just over 2 hours. I do live in hilly north devon if this adds any difference but essentially a completely flat route is pretty much impossible!

Thanks....

Comments

• t.m.h.n.e.t
    t.m.h.n.e.t Posts: 2,265
    What do you want to do? Eternally condemn yourself to short routes hard or long routes steady?

It's not a matter of what you "should" be doing,more a matter of what you aim to do.
  • Pross
    Pross Posts: 43,196
    Mix it up or you'll become a rider who can either churn out slow, steady miles or can ride fast for short distances but lacks stamina. Slightly simplistic but you get good at the things you do regularly.
  • I guess what im trying to ask ism whether or not there is a best way to go about things....i dont desire to condemn myself to either but essentially become the best rider I can. The thing that bugs me is that I still feel like i really should be going alot faster, should I focus on getting the speed up or accept that because im starting out its just a case of keep going and the speed will come in time. Also, is there much point in doing 50 mile rides if im only churning them out at and average or 13mph?
  • alihisgreat
    alihisgreat Posts: 3,872
    longer rides build endurance, faster rides build speed. simple.

so you want to go faster for longer? then do both.
  • jim453
    jim453 Posts: 1,360