Changing link in chain

jndb72
jndb72 Posts: 629
edited March 2012 in MTB workshop & tech
Afternoon,

Is it possible to change a single link in a chain? The chain in question is an Shimano XT HG94 10 Speed. When cleaning the bike this afternoon I noticed one of the plates on one of the links has snapped off. If possible I'd just like to buy a new link and fit it to the existing chain. Chain is only around a month old so I don't really want to replace the whole thing. Also, what tools would I require?

Apologies if this is a stupid question but I'm a noob to all this maintenance stuff. I'm basically fed up of paying the LBS to do stuff that I should be doing myself (within reason).

Thanks for any help.

Cheers

J
2011 Canyon Nerve AM 5.0
2009 Specialized Rockhopper Disc

I might have alzheimer's but atleast I don't have alzheimer's

Comments

• desweller
    desweller Posts: 5,175
    Yeah, just get a quick link, pop it off with your chain tool and put the quick link on instead.
    - - - - - - - - - -
    On Strava.{/url}
  • mar_k
    mar_k Posts: 323
    wouldnt it be covered under the Manufacturer Warranty if its only a month old?
  • jndb72
    Not sure, It got fitted by a well know (in my area) LBS.
    2011 Canyon Nerve AM 5.0

• jndb72
    DesWeller wrote:
    Yeah, just get a quick link, pop it off with your chain tool and put the quick link on instead.

Just being doing some googling. Is a quicklink the same as a powerlink?

Thanks

J
    2011 Canyon Nerve AM 5.0

• desweller
    desweller Posts: 5,175
    Um, I think the Powerlinks are SRAM's one-use-only links. If you can find a link that you can remove (e.g. KMC or Connex) then that'll be a bit more useful.

I'm not sure if MTB 10-speed chains are a different breadth to road 10-speed; if they are then you can get the KMC links on eBay for a more competitive price than the big online retailers. Perhaps someone more knowledgeable than I can confirm/refute?
    - - - - - - - - - -
    On Strava.{/url}