Newbie for Commute - NW London to Hampstead area

littleprawn
littleprawn Posts: 135
edited April 2012 in Commuting chat
Guys,

I have been reading with much interest and humour through the many topics in this forum in recent weeks in anticipation of commuting from home to work at least once a week around the end of March/ early April. If all goes well, then I hope to maintain the commute (baring an mishaps on the road and rants from missus) at least until September/ October time.

My route will be around 13 miles each way travelling from North West London (Eastcote area if people have heard of that place) towards Hampstead Heath. My bike will be my CAADX 2011 105 http://www.evanscycles.com/products/cannondale/caadx-5-105-2011-cyclocross-bike-ec025338 and I have been riding this since November 2011. At weekends, due to catching man flu every week from the kids, I have managed to muster 13 miles in an hour or so and hope this will be the kind of time I want to aim for in the commute.

I already mustered a light rucksack which I aim to use. Storage for the bike and clothes should be fine at work. I already have spare inner tubes, a multitool, pump, plastic gloves which I carry when I go out at weekends and these will be kept in the rucksack. I also have a set of lights which i will use and aim to get a spare set.

My other questions I have are as follows:-

THINGIES TO BUY
Gloves - which ones to buy? Can I get some cheapos from Decathlon which are fully gloved until when I decide to upgrade? Currently I use my Adidias runners gloves which are quite thin and have been up to the task but feel they are starting to wear....

Clothes- I do not have a dedicated jersey and hope to use my running top (long sleeve Nike and a baselayer) or would it be better to get a windproof Altura jacket/ jersey in bright yellow/ Orange/ red?