Beginners bike £450 ish

chrishill16
chrishill16 Posts: 6
edited March 2012 in MTB buying advice
Hi

I've been reading these forums for the last few days trying to get an idea of a decent first bike for around the £450 mark. I'm a complete beginner, not too fussed about brands - I just want the best bike I can get for the money. 

I'm not going to be throwing myself down any steep hills just yet so I guess I'm just looking for a 'standard' MTB rather than a DH bike. 

At the moment I'm considering a few models, so it would be great if someone more knowledgable than me could help narrow it down or even suggest a different bike altogether. 

Voodoo Bantu from halfords 
http://bit.ly/opqnd1

Norco Charger 6.3 from Evans
http://www.evanscycles.com/products/norco/charger-63-2012-mountain-bike-ec031667#related

Pinnacle Jarrah 3 also from Evans
http://www.evanscycles.com/products/pinnacle/jarrah-three-mountain-bike-ec027472

I know I'll probably need to try all of them before making a final decision, but it would be handy to know if I'm in the right ballpark in terms of value for money.

Would be great if someone can help, but if not thanks for all the advice that I've picked up so far. 

Cheers

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    They all have their merits, but the Voodoo would be my choicse of the three courtesy of the forks - they are significantly better than the others and will make a difference off road.

Also look at the Carrera Kraken and Decathlon Rockrider.