Old bighit?

dhutch
dhutch Posts: 343
edited April 2013 in MTB beginners
Im posting this in the noob section as although ive dont a fair bit of biking im new to fuss-suss and down hill moving from a rockhopper.

I have a week in Morzine (alps) booked and have just found out a colleague at work has got a bighit for sale, circa 2005 vintage, been to morzine a few times but relativly lightly used, and garaged for the last two years. Plenty of upgrades including Shivers front forks, decent rear shock (apprently) double wall rims, etc. Mine, with a bike bag and some armour that might even fit, for £500.

Not quite sure what frame size it is ashe is maybe 5ft 10 and im more like 6ft2 but I can ask.

Just wondering how an older bike would compair to say a simular price spent on a 2008/09 sort of age bike?
And any info specific to the bighit, or any other bike options for that sort of money.

Im not quite sure about going so downhill focused, rather than something more all mountain like a pitch, but i will be keeping the rockhopper I think so dont need anything with super pedal efficeny.

Daniel

Comments

• cycleclinic
    cycleclinic Posts: 6,865
    If he is 5ft 10 and you 6ft2 then it is unlikely the bike will be a good fit. My wife is only two inches shorter than me but fits perfectly on a 17" Orange P7, I take a 19" with a totaly different stem to make it right for me.
    http://www.thecycleclinic.co.uk -wheel building and other stuff.
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    If he is 5ft 10 and you 6ft2 then it is unlikely the bike will be a good fit. My wife is only two inches shorter than me but fits perfectly on a 17" Orange P7, I take a 19" with a totaly different stem to make it right for me.

Is impossible to say unless he can try it. Frame size and your height is a very, very general correlation, especially when there are so many other measurements on a frame.
  • dhutch