New Merlin Malt 3

draig
draig Posts: 13
edited March 2012 in MTB buying advice
Hi,
I'm new to mtb but have an old GT, with upgraded new deore groupset, recon silver fork, mavic rims on deore hubs and quad dime xc brakes. I'd like to upgrade the frame and have seen the Merlin Malt 3 on offer for £169. I can't find much info online but Merlin seem to have a pretty good rep. The Malt 4 gets decent reviews, are they similar? Has anyone got one or know anything about them? Any info would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• welsh_14
    welsh_14 Posts: 259
    As far as I'm aware all the Merlin frames are the same geometry etc. The only difference I can see between them is the type of tubing used and therefore the higher Malts eg. Malt 4 will be lighter than the others. I think that has a Kinesium frame and the others have different types of alu depending on which one you go for.
    I ride a Malt 2 which I absolutley love, it weighs in at roughly 26-27lb for my full build. I ride it mainly on natural terrain in the cheviots and some trail centres and have found it to be great. The back end can sometimes feel quite stiff due to the brace they have between the chainstay and seatstay. But I still ride mine on all day rides with no problems.
    Only thing you may want to watch for is that all the kit you are going to transfer will fit on the new frame.
    For the money its a great frame to go for! But as most people will tell you it all depends on your riding style/what you need it for.
  • mak3m
    mak3m Posts: 1,394
    let me know if you find anything

keep going back to the malts as a new ht purchase looking at the 4 or the 3 cant find hardly anything at all on the 3

They are similar but the malt 3 frame keeps turning my head :D
  • welsh_14
    As I said I dont think their is any real difference apart from the weight and type of alloy used. The geometry of all the frames is the same :D