Convert My Carrera To Single Speed. Help Needed!

CustomC
CustomC Posts: 122
edited March 2012 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi, i would like to convert my current 27 gear setup to a 1 Gear at the back and 3 at the front!

I however don't know what parts i will need nor how to do it. As far as i can figure out i will need a smaller cog at the back and some sort of adapter on the back so that the back cog is in the right place. As far as i know i will also need a chain tensioner since I'm keeping 3 gears at the front?

That's All i know so i come here once again asking for help. i have got some basic bike knowledge and a few tools.

Here is a pic of my bike in-case it helps:
IMG_0607.jpg
IMG_0608.jpg
IMG_0609.jpg

PS: yes my bike needs a good clean after all the salt during the "scottish winter" ... :mrgreen:

Any Help and Advice is greatly appreciated!

Comments

• Greer_
    Greer_ Posts: 1,716
    Something like this will work on the rear wheel - spacers, sprocket and a tensioner

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Mode ... elID=10009

This model also means you don't have to change your chain. Your current front mech will still work however I am not sure how changing gear will affect the chain line (and thus the chain falling off) as the point of the different sized spacers is to correctly align it. Sounds like it might be easier converting to one ring on the front (and getting rid of front mech, shifter and 2 chain rings), and keeping your cassete etc if you still want a range of gears?
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    See the info in the FAQs above.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • mcj78
    mcj78 Posts: 634
    Greer_ wrote:
    Sounds like it might be easier converting to one ring on the front (and getting rid of front mech, shifter and 2 chain rings), and keeping your cassete etc if you still want a range of gears?