Commuting

mr_eddy
mr_eddy Posts: 830
edited March 2012 in Commuting chat
I would like to get some info on people experience with commuting on road bikes. I have been commuting on road bikes for a few years (with the exception of a few months on a MTB). It would be great if people can answer the following:

1. How far commute
2. How often
3. Any specific tricks or kit that you would not leave home without
4. Road Craft, any things you do to improve your ride safety

personally my commute is either 6 miles each way or 6 miles there and 20 back. I try to cycle to work 4-5 days a week using the car only when I need to lug around stuff. I would not leave home withough my mini pump and a spare tube in my saddle bag, walking 3 miles in road shoes to work is not pleasant :(

When out on the road and especially in traffic I try and be a bit bolshy and obvious mainly so drivers can see I am around. I find that if you tuck right up to the curb then drivers tend to try and squeeze past.

Thoughts?

Comments

• Pross
    Pross Posts: 43,404
    1. 18.5 miles each way.
    2. 3 days a week when meetings etc. allow
    3. Lights (even in summer). In winter 3 rears (1 steady and 2 flashing on different setting) and 2 front (1 on strobe 1 on constant) plus reflective cycling jacket. Tools, spare tubes, pump and puncture repair kit. No need for a lock as I leave the bike in the office.
    4. Ride out from the gutter, avoid filtering down the inside of traffic, ride defensively, anticipate what other road users are going to do (especially at junctions), don't antagonise or argue with motorists, obey signs road markings and signals.
  • BigLights
    BigLights Posts: 464
    I commute 5 days a week, rain or shine, winter and summer. About 7.5 miles each way through London, on a Spesh Sirrus (it lives a tough life so the carbon road bike is reserved for weekend fun).